Tim Caulfield

Chair, ​Knowledge and Technology Exchange and Exploitation Committee

Lee Anne Tibbles

Training Director


Chair, HQP Steering Committee​

Kristjan Paulson


New Initiatives Committee

Bethany Foster


New Initiatives Committee

Jason Acker

Co-Chair, ​Knowledge and Technology Exchange and Exploitation Committee

Seema Mital


Evaluations Committee

Kirk Schultz


Evaluations Committee


Lee Anne Tibbles MD - Training Director and Chair of the HQP Steering Committee

Dr. Lee-Anne Tibbles is a clinician-scientist in kidney transplantation, taking discoveries from her basic science lab and translating them into a nationwide (CIHR funded) clinical trial for viral infections after transplantation. She was the Medical Director of the Southern Alberta Transplant Program and president of the Canadian Society of Transplantation. She has led the CNTRP Training Program since its inception and developed common and individual curricula and novel methods of distance learning.


Kristjan Paulson MD - Chair of the New Initiatives Committee

Dr. Kristjan Paulson is a hematologist/bone marrow transplant physician at the University of Manitoba and CancerCare Manitoba, Chair of the Leukemia Disease Site Group at CancerCare Manitoba, and the Scientific Director of the Canadian Blood and Marrow Transplant Group. His research interests include health services research and clinical effectiveness research in the fields of leukemia and blood and marrow transplantation.


Bethany Foster MD, MSCE - Co-Chair of the New Initiatives Committee 

Dr. Bethany Foster is a Pediatric Nephrologist at the Montreal Children’s Hospital and an Associate Professor of Pediatrics at McGill University. She’s also an Associate Scientific Director & Advisor for the Centre for Innovative Medicine-Pediatrics and an Associate Program Leader for the Child Health and Human Development Program at the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre. 


Timothy Caulfield BSc, LL.B., LL.M. - Chair of the Knowledge and Technology Exchange and Exploitation Committee

Prof. Timothy Caulfield is a Canada Research Chair in Health Law and Policy, a Professor in the Faculty of Law and the School of Public Health, and Research Director of the Health Law Institute at the University of Alberta. His interdisciplinary research on topics like transplantation, stem cells, genetics, research ethics, the public representations of science and health policy issues have allowed him to publish over 350 academic articles. He has won numerous academic and writing awards and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the Trudeau Foundation and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. 

He contributes frequently for the popular press and is the author of two national bestsellers: The Cure for Everything: Untangling the Twisted Messages about Health, Fitness and Happiness(Penguin 2012) and Is Gwyneth Paltrow Wrong About Everything?: When Celebrity Culture and Science Clash(Penguin 2015). Dr. Caulfield also has a strong social media presence and is the host and co-producer of the documentary TV show, A User’s Guide to Cheating Death.


Jason Acker PhD, MBA - Co-Chair of the Knowledge and Technology Exchange and Exploitation Committee and Project Lead

Dr. Jason Acker is a Professor in the Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology in the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry at the University of Alberta, a Senior Development Scientist at the Canadian Blood Services, and President of the International Society for Cryobiology and the Co-Funder and Director of PanThera CryoSolutions Inc.


Seema Mital MD, FACC, FAHA, FRCP(C) - Chair of the Evaluations Committee

Dr. Seema Mital is a pediatric cardiologist and Head of Cardiovascular Research and Interim Section Head of Heart Failure at SickKids, Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Toronto and a Senior Scientist at the SickKids Research Institute. She is also the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario Chair of Cardiovascular Science. 

Dr. Mital has a strong translational research program and established the SickKids Heart Centre Biobank, a multi-centre biorepository of children and adults with childhood onset heart disease for genomics research, one of the largest international repositories of its kind. She is the Scientific Co-lead of the Ted Rogers Centre for Heart Research Cardiac Precision Medicine Program and serves on multiple commitees such as the Leadership Committee of the Functional Genomics and Translational Biology Council of the American Heart Association. Dr. Mital is the incoming Vice-Chair of the American Heart Association Council on Cardiovascular Disease in the Young and is the Section Editor (Cardiology) for Pediatric Research. Dr. Mital has been leading Project 6 of the Canadian National Transplant Research Program addressing pediatric issues in transplantation.​


Kirk Schultz MD, Co-Chair of the Evaluations Committee

Dr. Kirk Schultz is a pediatric hematologist/oncologist focused on new therapies and rejection in blood and marrow transplantation and immune therapy of blood cancers. He is a past CIHR/Wyeth Clinical Research Chair in Transplantation and past chair of the Pediatric BMT Consortium, the largest children’s blood and marrow transplantation clinical trials group in the world.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

© 2014 by the CDTRP

All rights reserved