Kathryn Wood PhD - ISAC Chair - Prof. Kathryn Wood is Professor of Immunology in the Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences where she runs a research group of over 20 researchers. She holds a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award for research excellence. She was an undergraduate in Biochemistry at the University of Birmingham and received a DPhil from the University of Oxford in 1981 for her work on the complement system. Dr. Wood was elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2002. Her professional activities include a broad array of responsibilities, nationally and internationally, and have recently included: NIH Expert Panel on Transplantation Research; Better Biomarkers in Transplantation Advisory Board, University of British Columbia/Genome Canada, the INSERM Review Board, and the inaugural chair of the CNTRP Expert Advisory Board. 

Dr. Wood is the former President of The Transplantation Society and served as a Councillor for The British Transplantation Society, The British Society for Immunology, and European Society of Organ Transplantation. She is the Immediate Past President of The Transplantation Society (International), an editor of Transplantation and a former Trustee of Kidney Research UK. 


Thomas Nakagama MD - Dr. Thomas Nakagawa is chief of the Division of Critical Care Medicine, director of the pediatric intensive care unit (PICU) and medical director of respiratory care at Johns Hopkins All Children's Hospital. He joined the hospital staff in 2016. He also is a professor of anesthesiology and critical care medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

Previously, Dr. Nakagawa was a professor of anesthesiology and pediatrics and section head for pediatric critical care medicine at Wake Forest School of Medicine in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, as well as medical director of pediatric critical care medicine and director of respiratory care at Brenner Children’s Hospital and Wake Forest Baptist Health.


Dr. Nakagawa earned his medical degree from Texas Tech University Sciences Center. He trained in pediatrics as a resident and chief resident at Phoenix Hospitals Affiliated Pediatrics Program, Phoenix Children’s Hospital, Maricopa Medical Center. He completed a fellowship in pediatric critical care medicine at Children's Hospital Los Angeles. He also completed an executive certificate course in health care leadership and management in the Johns Hopkins University Carey School of Business. 


Roslyn B. Mannon MD, FASN - Dr. Roslyn Mannon received her medical degree from Duke University Medical School in Durham, North Carolina. She completed her internship and residency in Internal Medicine, and Nephrology fellowship as well as serving as Chief Resident in the Department of Medicine, also at Duke. After several years on the Duke Faculty of Nephrology as an NIH-funded investigator in transplant immunology at the rank of Assistant Professor and Director of Transplantation at the Durham VA Medical Center, she joined the Transplantation Branch of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases at the National Institutes of Health Clinical Center, an intramural, translational research program in transplantation immunology. As Medical Director of Transplantation for the program that performs all kidney and kidney/pancreas transplants all under protocol defined care, Dr. Mannon provided clinical and protocol support. She also served on the faculty of Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda as Associate Professor and later Professor of Medicine. Dr. Mannon is board-certified in Internal Medicine and Nephrology. She joined the UAB faculty in 2008. She is also Medical Director of the Birmingham VA Kidney Transplant Program.

Frans Claas PhD - Dr. Frans Claas is director of the Eurotransplant Reference Laboratory and professor of “the immunogenetics of transplantation” at the Leiden University Medical Center in Leiden, Netherlands. The main topics of his current research are the differential immunogenicity of HLA mismatches in clinical transplantation and the immunology of pregnancy as a model for transplantation tolerance. His research group has generated more than 500 papers in peer-reviewed journals. He was the initiator of a special program within Eurotransplant to enhance transplantation of highly-sensitized renal transplant patients on basis of acceptable HLA mismatches. He is a member of different professional societies as reflected among others by his past-presidency of the European Federation for Immunogenetics (EFI) and past-membership of the Board of the American Society for Histocompatibilty and Immunogenetics (ASHI). He is an editor-in chief of Transplant Immunology.


Barbara T. Murphy MB, BAO, BCh, FRCPI - Dr. Barbara Murphy is the Murray M. Rosenberg Professor of Medicine, Chair, Samuel Bronfman Department of Medicine, Mount Sinai Health System, Dean, Clinical Integration and Population Management, and Director of The Transplant Genomics Research Laboratory.

Dr. Murphy received her M.B. B.A.O. B.Ch. from The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and did an internship at Beaumont Hospital in Dublin, where she also completed a residency rotation and a fellowship in Clinical Nephrology. Dr. Murphy did postdoctoral training with a fellowship in Nephrology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School, where she trained in transplant immunology at the Laboratory of Immunogenetics and Transplantation, Renal Division, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School. Among her many honours, Dr. Murphy was awarded the Young Investigator Award in Basic Science by the American Society of Transplantation in 2003. In 2005, Dr. Murphy was awarded the Irene and Dr. Arthur M. Fishberg Professor of Medicine at The Mount Sinai Hospital.In 2011, she was named Nephrologist of the Year by the American Kidney Fund. In 2014, she received the prestigious Jacobi Medallion​.


Shaun Pattison LLB, MA, PhD, SFHEA, FRSA, FRSB - Prof. Shaun Pattinson joined the Law School at Durham University in 2006 and has been Professor of Medical Law and Ethics since 2013. He founded Durham CELLS (Centre for Ethics and Law in the Life Sciences) in 2011.

Shaun has a law degree from the University of Hull, and a Master's degree (in Biotechnological Law and Ethics) and PhD from the University of Sheffield. He is a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology. He has been a visiting scholar at the universities of Helsinki and Maastricht.


Megan Sykes MDDr. Megan Sykes is the Michael J. Friedlander Professor of Medicine and Professor of Microbiology & Immunology and Surgical Sciences (in Surgery), Columbia University. She is Director of the Columbia Center for Translational Immunology, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. She also serves as Director of Research for the Transplant Initiative and as Director of Bone Marrow Transplantation Research at Columbia University Medical Center. Dr. Sykes joined Columbia University in April, 2010 after spending 19 years at Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School, where she was the Harold and Ellen Danser Professor of Surgery and Professor of Medicine (Immunology) and Associate Director of the Transplantation Biology Research Center. 


Dr. Sykes is Past President of the International Xenotransplantation Association, served as Vice President of TTS, has repeatedly served on TTS Council, and is a member of the National Academy of Medicine

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

© 2014 by the CDTRP

All rights reserved