• David Hartell

Join us for the 1st CST CNTRP Journal Club Webinar on Feb 21 @ 2pm ET - Heart in a Box: Adventures i


Join us on February 21st at 2 pm ET for the first CST-CNTRP Journal Club! This is an exciting new activity that will showcase Canadian research in transplantation.

For this first, inaugural event, Drs. Christopher White and Darren Freed will present the session entitled “Heart in a Box: Adventures in Ex-vivo Perfusion”. They will discuss their recent published data, including reports in AJT 2016. The participation is open to all members of both CST and CNTRP communities. Instructions to log-in, links to the articles and speakers bios are all listed below.

WEBINAR DETAILS

Date & Time: Thursday, February 21 - 11am PT / 12pm MT / 1pm CT / 2pm ET / 3pm AT Log-in Information: http://cntrp.adobeconnect.com/webinars

List of articles to be discussed during the journal club:

SPEAKERS Trainee Speaker: Dr. Christopher White, Chief Cardiac Surgery Resident, University of Alberta

Dr. Christopher White received his BSc (Medicine) and MD from the University of Manitoba in 2009, and subsequently began his post-graduate medical education in Cardiac Surgery at the University of Manitoba. Between 2012-2015, he completed a PhD under the supervision of Dr. Darren Freed, focusing on investigating novel methods of resuscitating DCD donor hearts in an effort to increase the number and quality of donor organs available for cardiac transplantation. He is currently completing his final year of Cardiac Surgery training at the University of Alberta, following which he plans plan on pursuing a clinical fellowship in mechanical circulatory support and cardiac transplantation.

Supervisor Speaker: Dr. Darren Freed, MD PhD FRCSC, Associate Professor of Surgery, University of Alberta Hospital

Dr. Darren Freed is a cardiac surgeon clinician-scientist with an interest in heart and lung failure and novel techniques to treat these conditions. His primary clinical interests are in cardiothoracic transplantation and mechanical circulatory assistance as well as less invasive cardiac surgery and congenital cardiac surgery. His primary research interests are in ex vivo organ perfusion, heart transplantation, mechanical circulatory support and the biological basis of myocardial fibrosis. He obtained his MD from the University of Alberta in 1998 and completed his cardiac surgical training at the University of Manitoba where he also obtained a PhD in Physiology in 2004. In 2007 he completed a Clinical Fellowship in Cardiothoracic Transplantation and Ventricular Assist Devices at Papworth Hospital in Cambridge, United Kingdom. He is currently an Associate Professor, Division of Cardiac Surgery, Department of Surgery, with cross appointments in the Departments of Physiology and Biomedical Engineering. He is the Director of Research for the Alberta Transplant Institute.

Clinical Commentator: Dr. Nadia Giannetti, MD FRCPC, Associate Professor of Medicine, MgGill University

A native Montrealer, Dr. Nadia Giannetti received her medical degree from McGill University in 1991. She became an attending cardiologist at the McGill University Health Centre after completing Fellowship training at Stanford University in California in the field of Heart Failure and Cardiac Transplantation. She is the founder and Medical Director of the Heart Failure and Heart Transplant Centre at the McGill University Health Centre where she is a full time cardiologist with responsibility for the care of over 1000 patients with heart failure. Her clinical research interests focus on outcomes in high risk heart failure patients.

#JournalClub #training #academictraining #CST #CanadianSocietyofTransplantation #ExVivo #hearttransplant

107 views
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

© 2014 by the CDTRP

All rights reserved